Skip to main content

Piers Sellers Prize 2020

Wednesday 10 June 2020, 15:00 - 16:30

Join us for our annual Piers Sellers Prize event, at which we award prizes in the name of climate scientist, astronaut, and Leeds alumnus Piers Sellers.

This year’s winners are Dr Katharine Mach, for her world leading contribution to solution focused climate research, and Oliver Grasham and Harriet Thew for their exceptional PhD research to address climate change.

Read more about the winners in this news article.

The prize-giving event will include a short presentations from Oliver and Harriet, as well as a keynote lecture from Katharine on integrative assessment of climate risks and adaptations in support of decision-making and policy.

Register here


Former winners of the Piers Sellers Prize are Professor Petra Tschakert (2019), Professor Mark New (2018), Professor Felix Creutzig (2017) and Dr Joeri Rogelj (2016). The PhD prize has been awarded to Tom Slater (2019), Kate Palmer and Jesus Vergara Temprado (2018), Ross Gillard (2017) and Kate Scott (2016).

Piers Sellers Prize 2019 winners Professor Petra Tschakert and Tom Slater with Priestley Centre director Professor Piers Forster and University of Leeds Chancellor Professor Dame Jane Francis.