Skip to main content

Priestley Professor awarded prestigious Royal Meteorological Society prize

Centre news

A University of Leeds professor from the Priestley International Centre for Climate has been awarded the 2019 Adrian Gill Prize by the Royal Meteorological Society.

Presented to Professor Ken Carslaw, the award recognises his eminence in atmospheric science research and aerosol modelling. His is one of 18 prizes announced today by the Royal Meteorological Society, recognising people and teams who have made exceptional contributions relating to weather, climate and associated disciplines.

Professor Carslaw’s influence on the field of atmospheric science has been to bring aerosol physics from the margins, into the heart of climate understanding and climate modelling. This body of work has transformed operational models for weather, climate and air quality modelling, and the appreciation of uncertainties in projections of climate change.

I am never more productive or inspired than when I am working with sharp-minded people who question my ideas.

Prof Ken Carslaw

On accepting the award, Professor Carslaw said: “I am honoured to receive the Adrian Gill award, and very grateful to the Royal Meteorological Society and my nominators.

“Although it is almost a cliché to say that this award should be shared with all my great collaborators, it is absolutely true. I am never more productive or inspired than when I am working with sharp-minded people who question my ideas.

“I’m also grateful to the University of Leeds and the Institute for Climate and Atmospheric Science, which have provided a stimulating environment for collaboration and for pushing new ideas forwards.”

Having made fundamental discoveries in the physical processes of aerosol formation, and applying these discoveries to numerical models used for weather and climate prediction, Professor Carlsaw has had an outstanding career in the field.

The Adrian Gill Award, named after the Australian meteorologist and oceanographer, is awarded annually to a member of the Society who has made a significant contribution to their field in the preceding five years.

Full details of all awards and winners for 2019, along with citations and acceptance messages, can be found of the Royal Meteorological Society website.